Getting My Feet Bloody

I somehow found my way to Requiem. It’s another free MMO. It’s biggest “selling” point however is the fact that it is “The world’s first horror MMO!” Since it was free, I wasn’t too reluctant to jump in…

The first thing to do, of course, is to make a character.

Yum.

Yum.

Since I wasn’t too worried about the name, he became “Donato.” Original, huh?

Here I am, looking cool in the actual game.

Damn, I want hair like that...

Damn, I want hair like that...

Anyway, the first thing that I see is some guys all up in each other.

Hmm...

Hmm...

After a moment to recuperate, I encounter Latona.

Those glasses are just... mmm...

Those glasses are just... mmm...

Aw, yeah. She encouurages me to go visit with important people in town, thus giving me my first quests. I head towards the town, which is named the oh so mystical and fantastical, Kurt.

Guard is a common name in the world of Requiem. Here we see Guard McJohnson and Guard Hansen hard at work.

Guard is a common name in the world of Requiem. Here we see Guard McJohnson and Guard Hansen hard at work.


Cool Vantage Point #1

Cool Vantage Point #1

Cool Vantage Point #2

Cool Vantage Point #2

It’s no Stormwind, but I guess it’s not bad. Following what my quests suggest, I go meet the mayor of Kurt. He’s quite a jolly looking fellow.

*grumble*

*grumble*

He points me over to my next quest point, the tavern. However, unlike other MMOs *cough*WoW*cough* there is no point on the map or even a map of the city for me to follow. So for ten minutes I find myself wandering around Kurt. In my lost search, I meet up with this guy:

Hes a fucking tiger! Holy shit!

He's a fucking tiger! Holy shit!

I then made a promise to get myself a badass mount before I quit. Before I make it to the tavern, I come across my class trainer. Here is where I get my first “Go kill X monster Y times” quest.

Im a Temperion, by the way...

I'm a Temperion, by the way...

He also tells me to find another class trainer guy. After two seconds of searching, I find him.

Seriously, the other guy is literally 10 feet away...

Seriously, the other guy is literally 10 feet away...

From this guy, I get access to my skills! Now I can do stuff other than attack!

LOOK AT THAT! I ATTACK TWICE! TWICE!!

LOOK AT THAT! I ATTACK TWICE! TWICE!!

After talking to those two, I’m up to level 3. Aw yeah, I’m feeling good. I’m looking too.

Im all glowing and stuff. You cant deny thats awesome.

I'm all glowing and stuff. You can't deny that's awesome.

After some more wandering, I find the “tavern.”

Its just some kegs... what?

It's just some kegs... what?

I get kind of annoyed that they try to pass this area off as a “tavern.” However, the game instantly redeems itself when I meet my quest NPC.

I just rolled a 20 on a pants check... uh... eww...

I just rolled a 20 on a pants check... uh... eww...

I finish up my quest and decide to venture outside to kill some monsters.

Outside the city is a no-mans land. Also, theres a pirate ship.

Outside the city is a no-man's land. Also, there's a pirate ship.

I found some monsters and quickly slay them.

U-G-L-Y, you aint go no alibi. You are a grotesque looking creature.

U-G-L-Y, you ain't go no alibi. You are a grotesque looking creature.

I just slashed him... TWICE!!

I just slashed him... TWICE!!

Im so bad that I knocked a box out of him.

I'm so bad that I knocked a box out of him.

The dying animations are kind of cool. Instead of just dissappearing immediately, the monsters spasm and squirm around for a bit. I return to town, turn in the quest. This leads to another quest that requires me to obtain 4 Relic Fragments. This turns out to be a lot easier than I expect.

Yup, thats five Fragments onscreen all real close to each other... _

Yup, that's five Fragments onscreen all real close to each other... >_>

This was the last quest that I did, before I logged off. I realized that I could of done it all, had I the prior knowledge, in about five minutes. Oh well, I got some cool equipment from all the questing at least. I look so cool now. I went from this:

Old and busted

Old and busted...

To this:

New hotness!

New hotness!

I’m just looking so badass…

Leave a Reply

